Colour challenged: sepia

This week, I was briefly tempted to take a photo of a random outfit and hit it with a sepia stick. But that would be smart-assery. So instead I visited stores that I imagined were major emporia of sepia: Maitreya, LeLutka, and Pig. I found a lot of browns that looked like sepia but were not guaranteed sourced from cuttlefish ink sacs. I suppressed an impulse to put Portia in a beige leotard and orangey-brown lingerie (oh Pig, you do give me ideas!). And then I poked around in my inventory, finding this perfect Baiastice skirt from TDR. I really enjoyed putting this outfit together because I challenged myself to balance vintage glamour with plain-jane discipline.

I misunderstood the pricing on this Fashionably Dead skin and on the fatpack of the new Sweetest Goodbye shirts, and thus paid more than I intended. Don’t get me wrong: I wanted them, but I didn’t have to have them, and I was more inclined to buy them because I thought they were good deals. Negotiating with my tight fist has to be one of the harder parts of blogging. I fear that my freakish frugality will land me in a fashion rut because I will only buy what appeals to me the most. (Beige bodysuits and big furs. In beige.) I look forward to the day when my eyesight is so bad that I don’t even bother checking the price-tags and can just keep hitting “buy” until my beige purse implodes and I have to replace it with a sequined yellow gingham rucksack made out of recycled Tetra Paks. *Kaff.* Somehow that fantasy took a wrong turn down an abandoned mineshaft.

Credits to creators
shirt: Sweetest Goodbye, 4Minute Shirt in Camel and parts of the same shirt in Beige
skirt: Baiastice, Cotton Arquette Skirt [comes with different belt and gold blouse] (current TDR Blue)
skin: fashionably dead, Morning Sun Slasher 5
hair: Clawtooth, Mrs Mittens Girl Next Door (50% off)
shoes: LeLutka, Pow Pumps Beige
belt: The Secret Store, part of Pretty Poppy
glasses: Adjunct, Marrakesh Glasses Gold
eyes: amato, eyes mist 01
stockings: InZane, Kendra Lingerie Stockings
poses: Agape, free poses (Gabriel gg)
set: Gauged, Photo Studio 1

What do you think?

