Go kimono, go go kimono


The first time I lived in Brooklyn, I would leave my house looking the best I’d ever looked and see a woman looking far better by the time I was a block away from home. I feel the same way these days when I compare my looks and photos to the others I see on the feeds. But I didn’t give up in Brooklyn. I relished the walk along that short block, even if my only audience was a bunch of retired gentlemen lounging outside their storefront social club. And I’m really enjoying my brief walks of triumphant styling in SL. Even though I’m a late adapter, I feel bound to say that Vive9’s Abbey skin reached out and grabbed me by my obi the moment I tried it on Portia. Even without the eye makeups, which are 125L a shade, Abbey looks vivid, thanks largely to the sensitive colouration of the skin. (Don’t let my jowl-enhancing photo of Portia turn you off the skin. That’s my idea of art, not Vive9’s. See my Flickr page for less arty pix.)


There’s nothing like a good kimono to up the elegance ante, and there are plenty of free or inexpensive ones to snag. In addition to the ones shown here, and the one I posted yesterday, there’s a lilac-hued lovely on sale for 39L at Honey*Soul, and Awram Vie is offering a free red one. Now that Xmas is over, I love Xmas. The new Drowsy winter wonderland, with its vintage illustrations and palette, will make you nostalgic for the Xmases of your childhood, as well as kindle a new love for yarn. It will also exhaust your capacity to open gifts. I think there’s some kind of bloggers’ code that insists on separating the wheat from the chaff by not giving away the secret to entering the wonderland. But I don’t like social exclusions, so, here’s the drill: when you get into the little shop with the sheep and wool, hit the sign on the bookcase in front of you and watch it slide open to reveal the wolf-infested world beyond. Aww, don’t tell me you’re scared of a few wolves!

Credits to creators
Look one
kimono: Honey*Soul, Kimono Black Flower (39L until January 10, like everything else in the store)
hair: mikan, komorebi bazaar hair&accessories (free at Komorebi Bazaar, also a brown version)
skin: Vive9, Abbey Matte Lipstick 05 Base 02 [sundew] (comes with teeth tat)
eyes: Amacci, InSight BrownGreen Big Eyes (subo gift)
pose: Glitterati, from Model Poses 151-160 pack (TYVM Katey Coppola!)
location: Euphoria

Look two
kimono and hair accessory: evergreen, furisode (gg)
hair: kik, Shinobu black
skin: Glam Affair, Jadis Dark TDR Special A (current TDR)
necklace: HoD, Spite Necklace w bow black
eyes: UmedamaHolic, GemStone eye G04 (freebie)
pose: DPYumYum, Yukata poses pack (old freebie)
location: Drowsy Winter Festival

What do you think?

