Fear of fancy


I have this fear in real life. It’s not a fear so much as a prohibition. I cannot wear fancy things like giant gold necklaces because I am ugly. (Think of it this way: one can either have zits or gold, never both. To go out wearing both would be like putting peanuts on bread. It’s just wrong.) This inhibition persists in SL, where I find it impossible to dress my avs in full-on glamorous fashion. Somehow I always undercut it—with hair that looks tangled, for instance. So today I decided to do some therapeutic abuse of big flashy accessories. As usual, I don’t recommend that you try this at home.


The last thing you want to do is draw attention to the fact that you wore giant shades in the tanning bed and fell asleep. So nix the starry eye makeup and lock up the Look At Me choker from [glow] studio. The choker features a colour-change gem with many choices. They were too rich for me, so I stuck with vanilla. Baby steps. Baby steps.


With the Accessory Fair underway, I am a nervous blogger, fearing and wanting the statement jewellery at the same time. (I think it’s making me break out in RL.) Here, I have tried to tame OTT gold cuffs with a “CAMP” t-shirt so sporty that it makes me want to lie on my couch forever. The cuffs are part of the Finesmith Accessory Fair gift, which also includes a corset and towering headpiece. Y’know, for the mall. Don’t let these elements distract you from the adorable skirt by LpD, which comes with ruffle-top and non-ruffle-top versions.

Credits to creators
Portia wears
blouse: Priss, Oversized Tee in Pastel (on sale for 30L, then gone for good)
skirt: Milk Motion, My Tutu Tangerine
necklace: glow studio, Look ar mr Collar [sic]
skin: Filthy, ZombiePopcornHunt skin (ZPH gift; today is the last day)
sparks: chelle, Eyeliner Icey Sparks
lashes: amperlope, gold leaf brown lashes (old hunt gift)
hair: Clawtooth, The Seas Met Delicious Wine
socks: Milk Motion, My Leopard Socks
shoes: Zaara, Ilaida Mojiri Yellow
glasses: December, Glasses No. 51 (old hunt gift)
poses: Still Life, from the Darling pack

Stones wears
cuffs: Finesmith, part of Nqada Fair Gift
skirt: LpD, Petit Skirt Yellow Tones
jacket: Aoharu, NoCollarJK Red
tee: Chantkare, Camp Shirt Yellow (April VIP gift)
skin: Jesylilo, GSP TanSkin (Shiny) [available at Grunge Soul Project; ty Lilo Glom!]
tat: Dead Carrot, Sleeve Tat Cupcake Heaven
hair: LeLutka, Flapper Hair Overcooked
monocle: Sanu, Silly Summer Flowers Monocle [too much? never!]
poses: Still Life, from the bumble pack

What do you think?

