Jewels of the Nile


Accessories are my Achilles heel. More like my Achilles leg. I don’t get the need for accessories and accessories don’t get my need to not jingle or be distracted by shiny things when I’m lecturing. SL has not freed me of my accessories ambivalence. So it felt pointless to visit the Accessory Fair. I am happy to report that my intensive search yielded a beautiful winged scarab necklace by favole. (Blow up the pic to see it properly. I got overartsy in the lotus pond.) It’s not only beautifully sculpted and actually gold (rather than strident yellow), but also inexpensive at 100L and an RFL donation item. The Egyptian theme is ripe for kitsch, so I was impressed to see many creators restrained themselves. Having had a heavy-duty Egyptian phase when I was a goth, I can’t help but tear out my own hair and that of my neighbours when I see ankhs and eyes of Horus. Snakes are always creepy. But dung beetles don’t bug me.


If you want to avoid Egyptomania altogether, visit croire, where Emily Kaestner is offering sets of beaded accessories in lavender and pale tangerine and lime. Each set is 150L and contains a brooch, pictured above, a hairband, and a round bag. I love the shape of this brooch, and I am ever so grateful that it didn’t force me to put my av into a frothy couture gown called something like Lovely Lady in Lazy Lavender Land.

Look one
necklace: Favole, Sacred (RFL donation item at Accessory Fair)
bodysuit: Sea Hole, Yena Bodysuit Dreamscape
skin: Curio, Bean Light Pout Pure 1
hair: dDx, Robyn Raven Black (gift)

Look two
brooch: Croire, boho beaded brooch glacial (at the Accessory Fair)
jacket: BP*, denim jacket indigo
bustier: 5th&Oxford, Grace Bustier Lilac
hair and lashes: Kik, Ovis Aries
skin: Atomic, Lien Skin (DB) Buff VIP (old gg)
pose: hmaem, escape myself

What do you think?

