Gateway garb


The new cigarette pants from The Sea Hole are sublime. And only 60L a pair till the end of the weekend. I bought them in four scrummy colours and decided to use the black pair as the basis for an outfit I would wear in real life. At my age, my t-shirt is more likely to bear a retro-70s logo for the CBC than an 80s album cover. But when I was in highschool, I was such a fan that my parting yearbook quote was “Needing some other kind of madness.” Thinking back to that era, I realize now that Bauhaus was a gateway band to Goth. I started with Bauhuas, The Cure, and Siouxsie, and pretty soon Sex Gang Children and Christian Death were frightening me as much as my parents.


Fixated from an early age on black hair, I could never appear in real life as a blonde, or marry a blonde, although I have grudgingly dated one or two. And yet, when I decided to buy one of the new hairdos by barberyumyum, I couldn’t resist the alluring golds of the honey pack. (Go try on the dollarbie demos, which are a hoot and a half, as Rica Andel discovered.) The pack of sinfully sexy lipsticks from Pekka is more my teenage style. Getting the right shade of blue-red (rather than orange-red) lipstick sent me to the Christian Dior counter at a tender age. Know what? I haven’t been back since.


Inspired by the idea of gateway garb, I put together a second look featuring some of the items that sent me on the road to full-on Goth. Mothers, if you care about your daughters (and sons), you won’t let them experiment with vintage clothing: no floral boleros, no leopard prints, no bracelets made of fake jet, and, above all, no pointy shoes! They do terrible things to innocent feet. Of course, vintage is now 80s, not 50s, so I should be warning you against dresses with natural waistlines, giant shoulder pads, and clutch purses. (Methinks the purse war has already been won by the clutchers.)


Portia’s jacket is new on the Lucky Board at Awram Vie aka ][AV][. Her fascinator is from the new hairpiece gacha at barberyumyum, which is 60L a play. I think I’m going to devote all my 60L to buying every colour of the cigarette pants from The Sea Hole. It’s fantasy fulfillment: in a perfect real life, I would never cover my ankles again. After eight years living in California, I get claustrophobic when pants swamp my legs.

Credits to creators
Bela Lugosi lives look
hair: barberyumyum, 30/honey (NEW; 300L for a pack of three blondes)
pants: The Sea Hole, Soto Cigarette Pants Black (NEW)
jacket: tee*fy, Short Satin Blazer (last 50L Friday)
tee: Sn@tch, X-Bauhaus/Bela Tee (Male) (recent hunt gift)
skin: TSG, Stella in Alabaster Fuchsia (group LB)
lipstck: Pekka, from the Homicidal pack
shoes: COCO, Oxford two-tone
earrings: R.icielli, skull earring graff
bracelets: League, from the Wanderer Black set
poses: Glitterati

I need less toes look
bolero: ][AV][, Borero flowers black (NEW LB or buy for 100L)
pants: The Sea Hole, Soto Cigarette Pants Honeypot (NEW)
hairpiece: barberyumyum, kamikazari E (NEW gacha)
skin: TSG, Genevieve in Alabaster Sherb Lips (group LB)
lipstck: Pekka, from the Homicidal pack (NEW)
lashes: &bean, awesome lashes (not available)
hair: LeLutka, Flapper Almost Goth
top: Ema’s Secret, part of the Back to School outfit
socks: Milk Motion, My Leopard socks
shoes: Surf Co., Snazzy Ruffle flats (old gg)
earrings: R.icielli, skull earring graff
bracelets: League, from the Wanderer Black set
poses: .tea (store is closed)

What do you think?

