Talking Italian

I was in my twenties when I wrote off Italian culture. Oh sure, I love pizza, gelato, tiramisu, and the Florentine Renaissance. I’m not crazy. But Raphael makes me gag, Leonardo leaves me cold, and Michelangelo’s habit of sticking tiny conical breasts on bodies modeled by men turns me off everything, including my dinner. It was mostly Fellini’s over-the-top films that convinced me that Italy is all about excess and fantasy. And I am nothing if not a minimalist and realist. So it’s pretty damn ironic that many years after first rolling my eyes at “asa nisi masa,” I find myself blogging for a number of Italian creators…and loving it. Riri Ninni, Nevery Lorakeet and Aliza Karu have not only shown me the beauty of the Italian imagination. They’ve also shown me that new experiences can change old prejudices, for which I thank them.

Today, I am paying homage to the Italian creators by combining a dress and hat from AD Creations, shoes from h.m.a.e.m, and makeup from LpD. You’ll find Aliza Karu’s vintage-feel Gothic Summer dress in three different blacks at the Summer Fashion Festival. The mesh skirt comes in only one size, so be sure to demo it. And don’t forget to pick up the pretty poppy ring Ms. Karu set out as a gift. (There are plenty of gifts to pick up at this event. Most are disguised as large ice cream cones.) The playful gun/hoof/legwarmer boots from h.m.a.e.m are available this week at Fashion Cache for only 85L. Portia’s red LpD makeup is part of Conceptual, a knockout set that also offers vibrant red patches for the torso.


Last but not least, you will find h.m.a.e.m’s La Signorina-Angel diamond earrings and a matching necklace at the fundraiser for the victims of the earthquake in Emilia. The event ends on June 13th, so hustle your bustle. (The earrings are so small that you will have to click the pic and look past the magic flying poppies. Aw heck, who said I was a realist?)

[AD], Gothic summer mesh dress (at the Summer Fashion Festival)
h.m.a.e.m. – La signorina earing – Angel (100% donation item at the benefit for Emilia)
h.m.a.e.m. – zorongo for fashion cache*
*LpD* MakeUp – *Conceptual* Only Face 2
-Glam Affair – Amelie skin – Silent Doll BL (former TDR item)
Amacci, Pythia (blacks pack)
*Ticky Tacky* Mama’s Little Binky Ring – Onyx (R)
Fleshtone :: Vanity Studded Cuffs [R]
[Plastik]VaeColl.-Maza
:::Sn@tch Nail Candy (Stop):::
poses: No Wow and !bang

4 thoughts on “Talking Italian

What do you think?

