Freakouts in fashion


Quite apart from the fact that, when I was ten, the film of Grease taught me that I should be ashamed of being a virgin—and of not being one—the “Beauty School Dropout” scene traumatized me with its spectacle of professional failure. I was too young to know that I would never be expected to train as a beautician! (In 1978, 95% of working women were stuck in “pink-collar” jobs. The service industry has expanded since then, not contracted. And I will lose my professorship in six months. I may need to train as a beautician after all.) For today’s post, I decided to make good on my Grease traumas by making Pink Ladies Portia better quiffed and more menacing than any boy. Nyah nyah. (Btw, I liked Jeff Conway. Travolta did nothing for me.) The jacket, by Torn, is available at Vintage Fair. There’s also a pink with black-trim version.


I realize that this Vintage Fair pairing from Le Primitif is supposed to evoke Olivia Newton John’s “Physical” video, but it makes me think of Flashdance. Sure, Jennifer Beals’ performances were impressive. But no teeanger saw that film without worrying she would never manage the trick with the bra. If she ever got a real bra. What I experienced watching Flashdance and “Jane Fonda’s Workout” and the “Physical” video was a fear of being expected to move. Vigorously. In pursuit of fitness. This is why I became a goth in the 80s. The earrings alone were so heavy that I could barely rise from the chair on which I sulked.


I was far too young to understand the nasty cultural appropriation and sexualizing connotations of Bo Derek’s braids in 10. I thought she was extremely fake-looking and, thus, ugly; and I still can’t abide blonde cornrows and dreads. But that doesn’t mean my pale white avs never steal from proud Nubian princesses. For example, this perfect ‘do from Vanity Hair. Anorak also sports one of LpD’s gorge Vintage Fair skins—Nora in the 80s makeup, of course. Each skin comes in flat and cleavaged versions. There are makeups for the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s as well as a natural look. And you have your choice of the Lighter tone Anorak wears or a Darker one.

Credits (tysm to all the Vintage Fair creators. Most LMs can be found on the fair website.)
Greased lightning
{TD}Pink Ladies-M_Black (at Vintage Fair)
.::MADesigns HAIR::. ~ AGATHA ~ Black IV (at Vintage Fair)
booN gathered raised hairbase black
[W&B] High-Waisted Pencil Skirt BLACK (former FLF item)
A.M.K.R. * Bullet bracelet * unisex (old open gift)
pose and cig: flowey, recent FLF
location: artilleri sim

Waxed in the 80s
*LpD* Skins – *Nora* 80s Breast 2 (at Vintage Fair)
[the Skinnery]Extra blush
:::LP::: Let’s Get Physical Leotard [Blurple Stripe] (at Vintage Fair)
:::LP::: Tied Tight Top [Yellow] (at Vintage Fair)
Vanity Hair: Jioni HP-Red-Brown
Izzie’s – 80’s Rainbow Bangles mesh (gift at Vintage Fair)
:..SANTO..: Warthogs_Golden (free group gift in shop)
Female Dancer Legwarmer (in your LL inventory!)
**pulcino**Prim nail “Caponata” White (free at their booth, event here: maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/punjn%20UNV/94/142/40)
U:+*R*+: Dainty Bess Pierced Earrings Gold (old hunt gift)
prop: Glitterati, which is having a big sale

GIMP me with a spoon!

What do you think?

