Who cares?

gfr3l

I regret not understanding music. I wish the fat lady who smelled like cats, whose eyes were wrinkled shut and who shuffled to school in her slippers had not turned me off piano when I was a child. Several years ago now, I took an intro to music class while doing a post-doc at a wonderful university. The CDs for the intro class included “Who Cares?” a Gershwin song I didn’t know. (I grew up watching Hollywood musicals on TV, so I know my Gershwin.) The lyrics shocked me with their overt references to the stock market crash of 1929. Ella Fitzgerald sings it best, even if the arrangement is a little corny. “Let it rain and thunder / Let a million firms go under / I am not concerned with stocks and bonds that I’ve been burned with / I love you and you love me / And that’s how it will always be / And nothing else can ever mean a thing / Who cares what the public chatters? / Love’s the only thing that matters….” I wonder if America’s fear of financial ruin made this song taboo.

gldclcrl2

Credits to creators
-tres blah- Sequined Top (S) – Blush (at Collabor88)
illmatic :: “For The People Summer Shorts [L]
Baiastice_Petal Collar Necklace-copper-resizable (at Collabor88)
.:EMO-tions:. * TIZIA*/black hair
.Birdy. Ashley Skin ~CoCo~ (brown)
.Birdy. Lippy coco kiss {90’s pack}
!Ohmai : Antique Bee Ring (Rosegold) (old event item)
*YS&YS*, Bone Bangles (ye olde freebie)
mijn.botique accessories / studded earrings n.2 rgold (old TDRF item)
Maitreya Allure Socks – Sienna
Schadenfreude, Casinelle Rose (at Collabor88)
[UMEBOSHI] Lunar 2 eyes -Earth-
o0o Studio, Elizaveta poses

What do you think?

