Bared face beauty

collagebareface The challenge is to shoot a portrait of your avatar without makeup, lashes or enhancements and without any photo editing. I decided to give a make-under to all my women, so Hedda and Anorak are sharing a totem pole with Portia. This challenge was easy for me as I very rarely make my gals up. But finding a skin that is truly bare is a different matter, so I had to go deep into my inventory to find (top to bottom) Ming by The Skinnery, Luaflor by Essences and Aria by League. I don’t mess about much with eyelashes, unless they are six inches long and play “Fortress Europe” just as loud as it needs to be played.* The same could be said of breasts, which I was a little sorry to sacrifice for this assignment, especially as they would have enhanced the stereo sound. My photo-editing skills plateaued long ago, so these shots (which use the CalWl windlight with shadows enabled) aren’t that different from my usual pics. All in all, this challenge demonstrates that the design of an av’s face is crucial. Most important is getting a flattering or fascinating match between that face and a sensitively rendered skin. Check out the Flickr pool.
*You know it’s you, Shortie.

What do you think?

