Gear feels good

I admit to being dismayed when I saw that the theme for Second Life’s 19th birthday was steampunk. I don’t doubt that there are many steampunkers on the grid and elsewhere, but I never did enjoy wearing brown skirt-suits and big goggles. (A black harness and a gag are more my style.) I decided to bypass the birthday celebration sims and go searching for gifts at the Shop & Hop. I was thrilled to snag the glamorous knee-length Elena dress, which Salt & Pepper is offering in a free fatpack. I figured if I was going to mistress my misgivings and do steampunk my av would need something metal to stick on her face. I purchased Portia’s elegant colour-change Vega blindfold and collar at a discount from Zibska. The set also features dangly earrings. The big surprise for me as a stylist and a photographer was how much I loved the ultra-steampunky Gear Halo gift from VALKIRIA. Anything that runs a change on holy or wicked auras is good with me. Plus, reminders of industrialization are unjustly rare in fashion blogs. And yes, the gear turns just like your stomach at themed events. (I am all for Relay For life but I am all against purple.) If you do want to pay for steampunk style check out the Zenith booth, where several outfits are discounted, including a fatpack of an ensemble that features a button shirt and a cloth tutu. There is also a gift with a pretty ruched black short skirt and a lackluster denim camisole. Here you’ll find the TP list for all the vendors.

I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned that I am not a fan of most multi-ring sets. I dislike thin, pretty rings, especially when they are adorned with gems. That’s why I love Kartel Original’s Eunbi rings, which wrap mass-produced metal goods around your digits and then send you home to microwave dinner. Closing out my metal fest are Promagic’s Swarna earrings, which look crafted rather than milled. We can pretend, can’t we, that SLers still use their hands to shape gold?

Credits

Zibska, Vega set (colour change; discounted at SL19B Shop & Hop)

Salt & Pepper, Elena (Lara) (gift dress fatpack at SL19B Shop & Hop)

*VALKIRIA* Gear Halo – Cooper Old (gift at SL19B landing area)

PROMAGIC, Swarna Earrings

Kartel Originals – Eunbi Bento Rings – Maitreya 

/ HEAD / lel EvoX CEYLON 3.1

Ladybird, Jackie Lipgloss

LeLUTKA.EvoX.Hairbase.036 (f)

[Glam Affair] Flo Layer [Lelutka EvoX] Fair

Maitreya Mesh Body – Lara V5.3

K!odio, [Xiao] – Shape LeLUTKA Ceylon Evolx 3.1 / LEGACY (my edit)

poses: Stun, Bibi pack

backdrop: Minimal, Retro Backdrop 3 (not steampunk but the best I could do by way of a controlled environment)

What do you think?