(F)ace Pride

Is this the face of ace? Is it okay to risk some pretty clouds on your pretty avatar’s pretty cheeks? Might these fluffsters bring us down? (Compared to rainbows, that is, the cheery sign of pride.) For some a cloud feels like doom; for others it inspires optimism. I love to see rosy-acrylic-nailed dawn caress cumulus clouds. At a certain time of year, I begin my commute by savoring their tangerine tinge as I wait (12 fucking minutes) for my train on the outdoors platform. I watch these atmospheric wonders from the windows of the train, where I love to see them hanging above and then behind the buildings that grow taller as we chug downtown. It’s an inspiring way to start a longgggg, lonnnnng, loooong, lllllong commute, which, before it plunges me into brain fog, gives me clouds that enhance the allure of a gorgeous city centre. At a certain other time of year, I choose my seat carefully so that I can see sundown in glimpses of roseate clouds hanging in skyscraper canyons.

I’m doing the asexual pride colours again this year in a sexier version compared to last June’s avant-gardish guise, which was my relatively grumpy way to make good on the lamentable combination of black, white, grey and magenta. (And yes, one can be asexual and sexy at the same time.) Portia wears Nanika’s Ninel outfit with colour-change straps and Moon’s Nox hair from the Hysterias pack. The embedded pose makes your avatar hold out a hank of calf-grazing hair, which is a bit weird. (PSA for bondage enthusiasts: never wear your cuffs this loose or your collar this tight.)

I decided to offer you more clouds in enjoyable artworks. Naturally I thought first of conceptual art, which would doubtless offer (for no apparent reason) the most photos of fluffsters, and settled on John Baldessari, who teaches us how to mimic them. I’ve offered a drawing by Vija Celmins, even though I don’t get her. I discovered Berndnaut Smilde’s evanescent indoor clouds. I gave into the temptation to go smokey with Judy Chicago’s signature Smoke Bodies. And I couldn’t resist showing you the photo of Rose B. Simpson’s Maria, a transformed black-pottery-inspired El Camino with a sky-high apocalypse in tow.

Vija Celmins, Clouds, 1968, graphite on paper https://www.theparisreview.org/blog/2019/01/23/nature-redescribed-the-work-of-vija-celmins/

John Baldessari, Cigar Smoke to Match Clouds That are the Same (by Sight-Side View), 1972-73 https://www.pinterest.com/pin/504895808220208297/

Judy Chicago, Smoke Bodies from Women and Smoke (1972), fireworks performance, performed in the California desert https://americanart.si.edu/artwork/smoke-bodies-portfolio-fire-113494

Rose B. Simpson, Maria, 2014. 1985 Chevy El Camino. Bodywork and customization by artist. Designs inspired by traditional Tewa black on black pottery, named after Maria Martinez of San Ildefonso Pueblo https://www.rosebsimpson.com/maria

Berndnaut Smilde, Nimbus De Groen, and Nimbus Katoenveem, 2018 https://www.fabiopariante.com/clouds-and-illusion-interview-with-dutch-artist-berndnaut-smilde/

Credits

. Hanzel . Flavory Club (Clouds are part of this set)

#cloud9, daydreamer (Clouds are part of this set)

Jack Spoon. Biba Kit (blush 1) EVOX and (beauty mark 1) EVOX

{Rosier} / Cheeks Heart Dimples

MUDSKIN – Bonnie – A – DB – SUNKISS

/ HEAD / lel EvoX ORA 3.1

NANIKA – Ninel Chamomile Top

NANIKA – Ninel Panties White and Skirt 

NANIKA – Ninel Chamomile flowers

Moon. Hair // Nox Hysterias pack

S&P, Collar Avery and Cuffs

[Glitzz] Maxi Pearl Earring

Le Forme, Bento Nails M02 Smoky Reborn

REBORN by eBODY v1.69.6

eBODY – REBORN Shape 1 my edit 

Poses: DM – Grecian Beauty (so olde)

Stun, Dev 

FOXCITY. Photo Booth …#8# (at Backdrop City)

Just one of those quick pics you take when you’re trying to figure out if the streetcar you see a couple of blocks away is broken down or just resting.

What do you think?